Stacking the Shelves


Stacking the Shelves is a meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews.
We love getting new books and seriously can't wait to dive into them.
How about you? What new books did you get?

Hot Winter Nights (Heartbreaker Bay, #6)
   
  The Deepest Roots Blind Kiss
Professor Feelgood (Masters of Love, #2) Accessory to War: The Unspoken Alliance Between Astrophysics and the Military Evidence of the Affair The Rule of One (The Rule of One, #1)
   
 The Bird and the Blade


Book Review: The Storm Runner by J.C. Cervantes

The Storm Runner
Title: The Storm Runner
Author: J.C. Cervantes
Release Date: September 18th, 2018
Publisher: Rick Riordan Presents
Pages: 448
Age Group: Middle Grade
Genre: Middle Grade Fantasy

          
Zane has always enjoyed exploring the dormant volcano near his home in New Mexico, even though hiking it is challenging. He'd much rather hang out there with his dog, Rosie, than go to middle school, where kids call him Sir Limps a Lot, McGimpster, or Uno—for his one good leg. What Zane doesn't know is that the volcano is a gateway to another world and he is at the center of a powerful prophecy. A new girl at school, Brooks, informs him that he's destined to release an evil god from the ancient Maya relic he is imprisoned in—unless she can find and remove it first. Together they return to the volcano, where all kinds of crazy happens. Brooks turns into a hawk, a demon attacks them in a cave, and Rosie gives her all while trying to protect Zane. When Zane decides to save his dog no matter the cost, he is thrust into an adventure full of surprising discoveries, dangerous secrets, and an all-out war between the gods, one of whom happens to be his father. To survive, Zane will have to become the Storm Runner. But how can he run when he can't even walk well without a cane?

Feisty heroes, tricky gods, murderous demons, and spirited giants are just some of the pleasures that await in this fresh and funny take on Maya mythology, as rich and delicious as a mug of authentic hot chocolate.

This book reminded me what I love about middle grade - adventure, imagination and fun wit. I had a lot of fun reading this book. The pages flew and it felt a lot like a cozied in bed kind of story. 

I loved getting to know the different sorts of characters in the book. We have Zane, our main character, who is a character that is full of heart and braveness. We have a whole fun array of characters to accompany Zane. We have his funny, yet humbly smart, neighbors, his kick-butt friend, his funny, go-with-the-flow cool uncle, his sweet mom, and a lot of interesting people that he meets along the way of his journey. I really loved getting to know and finding all the characters along Zane's journey. 

I really loved getting to know the Mayan mythology through the story. Only thing is, I wanted to get to know more. This story told the myths on a need-to-know basis and I kinda wanted a lot more. I craved a little more background. It was so fun to find out more as you read, and I couldn't wait to get to the next part so I could learn a little bit more. 

It's hard to pick a favorite part out of this book, because I really enjoyed every single aspect of this book. If you enjoyed Percy Jackson, this is definitely a book for you! If you enjoy fantasy, mythology or fun adventure stories, check this book out!


Happy Reading from me to you!




Waiting on Wednesday: Kingdom of the Blazing Phoenix (Rise of the Empress #2) by Julie C. Dao


Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event that is hosted by Breaking the Spine and spotlights upcoming releases that we are eagerly anticipating.
This week pick is:

 Kingdom of the Blazing Phoenix (Rise of the Empress #2)

Kingdom of the Blazing Phoenix

Author:  Julie C. Dao 
Publisher: Philomel Books 
Expected Release: November 6th 2018

This fairy tale retelling lives in a mystical world inspired by the Far East, where the Dragon Lord and the Serpent God battle for control of the earthly realm; it is here that the flawed heroine of Forest of a Thousand Lanterns finally meets her match. An epic fantasy finale to that breathtaking and dazzling story.

Princess Jade has grown up in exile, hidden away in a monastery while her stepmother, the ruthless Xifeng, rules as Empress of Feng Lu. But the empire is in distress and its people are sinking into poverty and despair. Even though Jade doesn't want the crown, she knows she is the only one who can dethrone the Empress and set the world right. Ready to reclaim her place as rightful heir, Jade embarks on a quest to raise the Dragon Lords and defeat Xifeng and the Serpent God once and for all. But will the same darkness that took Xifeng take Jade, too? Or will she find the strength within to save herself, her friends, and her empire?

Set in an East Asian-inspired fantasy world filled with breathtaking pain and beauty, Kingdom of the Blazing Phoenix is filled with dazzling magic, powerful prose, and characters readers won't soon forget.

Fans of Stealing Snow, Red Queen, and The Wrath and the Dawn will hungrily devour this page-turning read.

Top Ten Tuesday: Books On My Fall TBR

Top Ten Tuesdays (TTT) is a weekly event now hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl. This week's TTT is: Books On My Fall TBR.
I love creating tbr lists! Confession - I'm a huge mood reader. Being a mood reader, for me, means that I have such a hard time sticking to a tbr list. BUT, it never stops me from making lists and hoping that one fo these times, I will end up reading all the books on the list. 



In my list, I have some newer releases, some backlist titles, some halloween-type reads, some I've been wanting to read and books I've meant to get to for awhile now.
I do find myself more drawn to mysteries, thrillers, creepy-ish, darker, and historical fiction stories.

Some newer releases...
   

Some blacklist titles and one classic...
  
  








It's Monday! What Are You Reading?


It’s Monday! What Are You Reading is a weekly meme hosted by
Book Journey * *
Here is what we Finished, Currently Reading, and what is
Next In line. How about you? These were some fantastic reads and we are so excited to share what we think with you! So make sure you keep your eyes out for our reviews!

 

 
 Wildcard (Warcross #2) 

Consumed (Firefighters, #1)

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...