Book + Author Spotlight: Little Big Love by Katy Regan

Little Big Love
Title: Little Big Love
Author: Katy Regan
Publication Date: June 5, 2018
Publisher: Berkley
Pages: 384
Genre: Contemporary
Age Group: Adult
About a Boy meets Parenthood in this smart, big-hearted love story about a family for whom everything changed one night, a decade ago, and the young boy who unites them all.
Told through the eyes of Zac, Juliet, and grandfather Mick, Little Big Love is a layered, heartfelt, utterly satisfying story about family, love, and the secrets that can define who we are.
Katy Regan
Katy Regan was born and brought up in the northern seaside town of Morecambe. Her claim to fame - aside from being possibly the only person in the world to get expelled from primary school - is that at the age of 16 she went to stage school in Surrey with Posh Spice. She worked at 19 magazine for two years before joining Marie Claire in 2002. 'Highlights' in that position included spending ten days in the buff on a nudist resort and becoming a footballer's wife for a week -- all in the name of investigative journalism. In 2004 at the height of her career as the office roving reporter singleton, she fell accidentally pregnant by her best mate (who just remained a friend). Seeing the creative possibilities in this unconventional situation, her editor commissioned her to write a column - And then there were three! which proved so successful it ran for two years and inspired many a reader to write in to Katy with their life story. She has now taken her loyal following to her blog - The State She's In - on the Marie Claire website. She lives in south London and shares care of her son Fergus with his dad who lives across the road.

Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I Hope to Read This Summer

Top Ten Tuesdays (TTT) is a weekly event now hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl. This week's TTT is: Top Ten Books to Read By the Pool/At the Beach or Books on Your Summer tbr. 
I love making tbr lists, even if I tend to stray away from them because of my mood reading. I'm going on vacation soon to the beach and I hope to take some of these books with me! Any recommendations on what I should read first? 

*Click on the book covers to visit the book's Goodreads page

The books I hope will have me saying "just one more page" 


The books that I hope will leave me grinning


The books I hope will make good beach companions


A book that was recently highly recommended to me

One of my most anticipated summer releases

It's Monday! What Are You Reading?

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading is a weekly meme hosted by
Book Journey * *
Here is what we Finished, Currently Reading, and what is
Next In line. How about you? These were some fantastic reads and we are so excited to share what we think with you! So make sure you keep your eyes out for our reviews!
The Cruel Prince (The Folk of the Air, #1)  

  The Book of M
The Last Magician (The Last Magician, #1) Save the Date

Book Review: Bring Me Their Hearts by Sara Wolf

Bring Me Their Hearts
Title: Bring Me Their Hearts
Author: Sara Wolf
Release Date: June 5th, 2018
Publisher: Entangled Teen
Pages: 400
Age Group: Young Adult
Genre: Fantasy

Zera is a Heartless – the immortal, unageing soldier of a witch. Bound to the witch Nightsinger ever since she saved her from the bandits who murdered her family, Zera longs for freedom from the woods they hide in. With her heart in a jar under Nightsinger’s control, she serves the witch unquestioningly.

Until Nightsinger asks Zera for a Prince’s heart in exchange for her own, with one addendum; if she’s discovered infiltrating the court, Nightsinger will destroy her heart rather than see her tortured by the witch-hating nobles.

Crown Prince Lucien d’Malvane hates the royal court as much as it loves him – every tutor too afraid to correct him and every girl jockeying for a place at his darkly handsome side. No one can challenge him – until the arrival of Lady Zera. She’s inelegant, smart-mouthed, carefree, and out for his blood. The Prince’s honor has him quickly aiming for her throat.

So begins a game of cat and mouse between a girl with nothing to lose and a boy who has it all.

Winner takes the loser’s heart.

One of the things that I love about this book is the unique world. In this world, we have individual witches with a team of soldiers. The way that these witches control their soldiers and maintain their loyalty is by keeping their hearts. This is how the soldiers obtain being called heartless. Without a heart, they are ruthless and built to do the witch's bidding without question. I have never encountered any world like this and I was pretty intrigued.  I loved the amount of depth and imagination that was put into the world. There's so much to learn, but Wolf does a great job explaining everything. There were parts that felt a little bit info-dumping but it wasn't overwhelming and it didn't take me out of the story. I really enjoyed learning about this world of witches and their soldiers.  

My favorite part of this book is Zera. I especially loved her witty remarks. She is so tough, but she also has a soft side. There's so much to love about her in the way she cares for her comrades, the way that she is so tough, and the way that she is also quite hilarious with her wit. I must mention that I loved seeing my ship interact and develop as well. The first meeting was one of my favorite things; when the two people meet and they don't know the importance of one another. I loved seeing the second meeting and beyond that. The romance was another favorite part of the book for me. 

I feel like this book/series to come has so much to offer. There are great characters. There's a whole new world. There's action. There's romance. It has one of my favorite tropes; the kind when someone tries to infiltrate a court (I really liked reading that specific plot line of Zera trying to infiltrate the court). Also, the ending! I cannot wait to see where this book is going to go next. This is a perfect read if you're looking for a unique paranormal story with a BA, witty main female character and a good romance. 

Happy Reading from me to you!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...