~ Book Review: Uninvited by Sophie Jordan ~


Title: Uninvited
Author: Sophie Jordan
Publisher: Harper Teen
Release Date: January 28, 2014
Pages: 384
Format: eBook
Source: Edelweiss
Age Group: Young Adult
Genre: Dystopia


From New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan, Uninvited is a chilling and suspenseful story about a girl whose DNA brands her as a killer, perfect for fans of The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer and Confessions of a Murder Suspect.

Davy had everything—a terrific boyfriend, the homecoming crown, a bright future at Juilliard—but when her genetic tests come back positive for Homicidal Tendency Syndrome, she loses it all. Uninvited from her prestigious school and avoided by her friends and family, she is placed in a special class with other "carriers" who are treated like the murderers they someday might become.

Only Sean, a fellow HTS carrier, can relate to her new life and tells her that she alone controls her actions—not the code embedded in her DNA. But even if she can learn to trust him, can Davy trust herself?



Sophie Jordan's "Uninvited" made me excited to read dystopia again. It was different from all the other "end of the world" scenarios you normally read about in this genre and brings a scientific factor to it I had not expected. This book has been heavily compared to Tom Cruise's Minority Report, and with good reason. It raises a lot of moral questions about nature vs nurture and whether a person should be punished or judged based on what’s in their DNA. Does the fact that you have a gene that predisposes you to commit murder mean that you’re actually going to commit a murder someday?

Davy Hamilton is the girl that has it all. A rich family, a hot boyfriend, musical talent, and a privileged life ahead of her. That is until the preppy school she goes to decides to test all students for HTS (Homicidal Tendency Syndrome) and Davy's test comes back positive. Suddenly Davy's world is turned upside down and everything she has ever loved and had is slowly stripped away from her. No longer is she the most popular girl in school with the boyfriend every girl could want, she is now a pariah that has been "uninvited" from the places she had been welcomed at before.

What really grabbed me the most about this story is how Davy struggles with accepting that her life had changed for good. She even held on to her own prejudice against those in the same situation as her as long as she could, until life had beaten her so hard she finally had to let go of it. At times I wanted to shake her, scream at her to snap out of it. I guess that's why I felt connected to her because isn't that how it sometimes goes that we don't see things how they are until it's too late? I definitely enjoyed this story and can't wait for the sequel to find out what happens to Davy and her friends after the killer cliffhanger at the end of this book. Definitely a great read.


8 comments :

  1. I really enjoyed it, too. Especially because of all the questions it brings up. But, like you said, I wanted to shake Davy sometimes, things would've been a lot easier for her if she accepted it sooner, I don't think it would've made the events change (well, maybe that slap scene), but more of the way she would react, she definitely would've been stronger for it. Glad you enjoyed it, I so can't wait for the sequel, great review! :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks so much for your comment. I agree that things would have been so much easier on Davy if she had accepted her new circumstances sooner instead of trying to hold on so tight to her old life. It's the way of the world right? You have to adapt.

      Delete
  2. This sounds like a great read. Also, I love the cover with her floating and her hair cascading down like that.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. That was the first thing that caught my attention, that cover. It just looks like something out of a sci-fi movie.

      Delete
  3. OOoh nice review! I am very eager to read this one which surprises me based on my love of paranormal books! But occasionally, that dystopian novel worms its way into my scope and I want to read it! And this is definitely one of them! Have read so many great reviews that I cannot wait to read it myself! Again, great review!

    ReplyDelete
  4. I'm so glad you've enjoyed this book! :D I've heard such great things, I might have to consider it myself at some point :)

    A Quick Update

    ReplyDelete
  5. Great review! Ever sense the moment i spotted this i filed it under "like every other dystopian lately" file and dismissed it until further notice. Now i just might come beck to it sooner!

    ReplyDelete
  6. This sounds really cool - the whole nature vs. nurture debate is one that I really can't pick a side on. I loved Minority Report, so I'll look out for this!

    - Kritika @ Snowflakes & Spider Silk

    ReplyDelete

We love and appreciate comments, so feel free to leave us one. We always try to respond to every single one and show love back. :)

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...