Book Review: Falling Into Place by Amy Zhang

18163646
Title: Falling Into Place
Author: Amy Zhang
Publication Date: September 9, 2014 
Publisher: Greenwillow Books
Pages: 304
Format: ARC
Source: Publisher - BEA
Age Group: Young Adult
Genre: Contemporary

     
On the day Liz Emerson tries to die, they had reviewed Newton’s laws of motion in physics class. Then, after school, she put them into practice by running her Mercedes off the road.

Why? Why did Liz Emerson decide that the world would be better off without her? Why did she give up? Vividly told by an unexpected and surprising narrator, this heartbreaking and nonlinear novel pieces together the short and devastating life of Meridian High’s most popular junior girl. Mass, acceleration, momentum, force—Liz didn’t understand it in physics, and even as her Mercedes hurtles toward the tree, she doesn’t understand it now. How do we impact one another? How do our actions reverberate? What does it mean to be a friend? To love someone? To be a daughter? Or a mother? Is life truly more than cause and effect? Amy Zhang’s haunting and universal story will appeal to fans of Lauren Oliver, Gayle Forman, and Jay Asher

I decide to start Falling Into Place because the Epic Reads girls mentioned it in one of their #TeaTime partes. When I got my hands on this book, it jumped to the top of my TBR pile. This is the debut novel by Amy Zhang, if you loved If I stay this might be to your liking.

One day Liz Emerson decides to prove how Newton's Law actually works, but in a really different way. Liz decides that the world is off better without her in it. In this journey, we will learn what made Liz Emerson Queen B of Meridian High make such a drastic decision.

Liz is a really complex character throughout the book. She really has gone through some hard times. Losing her dad and most of all, losing herself. I didn't feel connected to Liz because she was this typical popular girl, getting drunk and bullying people. She just wasn't a character I can identify myself with. On the other hand the writing was incredible. There were pages in the book that were literally tearing my poor heart into a million pieces.

Falling Into Place is an amazing book and it tells you not to judge someone just by how they look. They might seem happy but they might need help and maybe a hug. So next time you see someone a bit down tell them they look nice or how awesome they were at something. The little things go a long way.


1 comments :

  1. This sounds so good. I can't wait to read it. Great Review!

    ReplyDelete

We love and appreciate comments, so feel free to leave us one. We always try to respond to every single one and show love back. :)

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...