Book Review: Gathering Darkness (Falling Kingdoms #3) by Morgan Rhodes

Title: Gathering Darkness
Author: Morgan Rhodes
Publisher: Razorbill
Release Date: December 9th, 2014
Pages: 416
Format: eBook
Source: Bought
Age Group: Young Adult
Genre: Fantasy

In GATHERING DARKNESS, book three of the New York Times bestselling Falling Kingdoms series, the stakes have never been higher as three teams push forward on a race to find the Kindred, the four elemental crystals possessing ancient all-powerful magic, first:

Prince Magnus has just witnessed torture, death, and miracles during the bloody confrontation that decimated the rebel forces. Now he must choose between family and justice as his father, the cruel King Gaius, sets out to conquer all of Mytica. All Gaius needs now are the Kindred - the four elemental crystals that give godlike powers to their owner. But the King of Blood is not the only one hunting for this ancient, storied magic...

• THE KRAESHIANS join the hunt. Ashur and Amara, the royal siblings from the wealthy kingdom across the Silver Sea, charm and manipulate their way to the Kindred, proving to be more ruthless than perhaps even the King of Blood himself.

• THE REBELS forge ahead. Princess Cleo and vengeful Jonas lead them, slaying with sweetness, skill, and a secret that can control Lucia's overpowering magic - all so they can use the Kindred to win back their fallen kingdoms.

• THE WATCHERS follow Melenia out of the Sanctuary. They ally in the flesh with King Gaius, who vows to use Lucia's powers to unveil the Kindred.

The only certainty in the dark times is that whoever finds the magic first will control the fate of Mytica... but fate can be fickle when magic is involved.
Not gonna lie, I stayed up till midnight to buy my ecopy of Gathering Darkness. I couldn't help myself. I've been waiting a year for this book and when 12am came around the corner, I made sure to not have anything planned that day because I knew I was going to have a book hangover and I did and it was so worth it. Gathering Darkness was everything I wanted and more.

What I love about Morgan Rhodes writing is that I never know what to expect from any of the characters. The main four characters still continue to surprise me and reel me in with their charming-sassy-badass ways. Seriously I would follow their story until the end of time, if it was possible. And now I know what readers meant when they said that one of the last chapters will make you swoon. Let's just say that I love Magnus now more than ever. 

It's really hard to talk about Gathering Darkness since I don't want to spoil anything but things happen in this book that change the game in ways that I didn't see coming. Whether the characters are fighting for their lives, dying or falling in love, Gathering Darkness is full of shocking revelations and slow-burn romances. 

I will never get enough of the Falling Kingdoms series and Gathering Darkness just proved why Morgan Rhodes is a fabulous author who deserves all the chocolate and wine in the world. Also, I NEED BOOK FOUR SINCE YESTERDAY.


Post a Comment

We love and appreciate comments, so feel free to leave us one. We always try to respond to every single one and show love back. :)

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...