Book Review: The Night We Said Yes by Lauren Gibaldi

Title: The Night We Said Yes
Author: Lauren Gibaldi
Publisher: Harper Teen
Release Date: June 16th 2015
Pages: 304
Format: eARC
Source: Edelweiss
Age Group: Young Adult
Genre: Contemporary

A fun, romantic read, perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen and Susane Colasanti!

Before Matt, Ella had a plan. Get over a no-good ex-boyfriend. Graduate from high school without any more distractions. Move away from Orlando, Florida, where she’s lived her entire life.

But Matt—the cute, shy, bespectacled bass player who just moved to town—was never part of that plan.

And neither was attending a party that was crashed by the cops just minutes after they arrived. Or spending an entire night saying “yes” to every crazy, fun thing they could think of.

Then Matt abruptly left town, and he broke not only Ella’s heart but those of their best friends, too. So when he shows up a year later with a plan of his own—to relive the night that brought them together—Ella isn’t sure whether Matt’s worth a second chance. Or if re-creating the past can help them create a different future.

In alternating then and now chapters, debut author Lauren Gibaldi crafts a charming, romantic story of first loves, lifelong friendships, uncovered secrets, and, ultimately, finding out how to be brave.
First off I want to bow down to Lauren Gibaldi because she use to be a former circus aerialist. How cool is it that? She use to be in the air flying and doing all those beautiful moves and I'm just in awe, okay I'll stop fangirling now.

The Night We Said Yes is told in past and present times. A year ago Matt left Ella, he didn't tell her why or anything, he just up and left. And if your like me, then yes I wanted to punch him when I saw he was back and then demand answers. Can you just imagine the guy you loved not giving you an explanation and wondering what happened to him? I have to give it to Ella, she was such a strong character who wanted the truth no matter how much it hurt. 

I try to avoid one night stories only because I'm very greedy and want more of the characters but Lauren Gibaldi made it work. Not only was I invested in this book, I was full on shipping two of the couples. I like stories about a person growing and how one single act can change your views of everything you know and thought you knew. I liked the feeling of starting over and forgiving someone from their mistakes, no one is perfect and Lauren writing's was beautiful and the idea of saying yes to everything was just brilliant. (I want a night like Ella's.)The back and forth memories were enjoyable and not confusing at all and I have to admit this book makes me want to read more one day stories.

It rained while I was reading The Night We Said Yes, I had a perfect setting to an amazing-fun- read. I loved this story., LOVED LOVED LOVED IT.  I loved the bonds created with these friends and how they met, the adventures they took. So make sure to say YES when this book releases, trust me it'll be the start of many future YES' with this author.


Post a Comment

We love and appreciate comments, so feel free to leave us one. We always try to respond to every single one and show love back. :)

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...