Book Review: Shuffle, Repeat by Jen Klein

Shuffle, RepeatShuffle, Repeat
Author: Jen Klein
Publication Date: May 3, 2016
Publisher: Random House for Young Readers
Pages: 336
Format: ARC paperback
Source: ALA
Age Group: Young Adult
Genre: Contemporary Romance

       
When Harry Met Sally for YA romance readers. This opposites-attract love story is perfect for fans of Huntley Fitzpatrick, Stephanie Perkins, and Jenny Han.
June wants high school to end and real life to begin. Oliver is soaking up senior year’s glory days. They could have coasted through high school, knowing about—but not really knowing—each other.
Except that their moms have arranged for Oliver to drive June to school. Every. Single. Day.
Suddenly these two opposites are fighting about music, life . . . pretty much everything. But love is unpredictable. When promises—and hearts—get broken, Oliver and June must figure out what really matters. And then fight for it.
 
The main character in this book is a girl named June Rafferty. She is in her senior year of high school and certainly not into the football games, showing school spirit, and worst of all PROM! She hates the idea of it and thinks that none of it will matter next year when she goes to college. Her boyfriend Adam Markovich or as others know him (Itch) totally agrees with her. She has just gotten the news that her mom’s best friends son Oliver Flaggs is going to be driving her to school every morning for the rest of the year. Little does she know that this little morning carpool, will take her on a trip. This morning routine makes her come to the reality that there is a lot that matters in the world.

The author Jen Klein is one of my new favorite authors. I personally believe that she used vocabulary that was easy to understand for a girl my age. The storyline is very well developed. Klein really knows how to write and you can see this in her amazing writing. I also enjoyed how Klein made sure that the tense parts of the book were exaggerated. I additionally loved that the “inappropriate” parts of the book aren’t really PG but they aren’t R rated either. The theme of this book is a real wake up call for girls that are in relationships and aren’t happy. In my eyes, happiness is the key in every relationship and Klein definitely seems to agree.


0 comments :

Post a Comment

We love and appreciate comments, so feel free to leave us one. We always try to respond to every single one and show love back. :)

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...