Waiting on Wednesday: You're Welcome, Universe by Whitney Gardner

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event that is hosted by Breaking the Spine and spotlights upcoming releases that we are eagerly anticipating.
This week pick is:

   You're Welcome, Universe

You're Welcome, Universe

Author: Whitney Gardner
Publisher: Knopf
Expected Release: March 7th 2017

A vibrant, edgy, fresh new YA voice for fans of More Happy Than Not and Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda, packed with interior graffiti.

When Julia finds a slur about her best friend scrawled across the back of the Kingston School for the Deaf, she covers it up with a beautiful (albeit illegal) graffiti mural.

Her supposed best friend snitches, the principal expels her, and her two mothers set Julia up with a one-way ticket to a “mainstream” school in the suburbs, where she’s treated like an outcast as the only deaf student. The last thing she has left is her art, and not even Banksy himself could convince her to give that up.

Out in the ’burbs, Julia paints anywhere she can, eager to claim some turf of her own. But Julia soon learns that she might not be the only vandal in town. Someone is adding to her tags, making them better, showing off—and showing Julia up in the process. She expected her art might get painted over by cops. But she never imagined getting dragged into a full-blown graffiti war.

Told with wit and grit by debut author Whitney Gardner, who also provides gorgeous interior illustrations of Julia’s graffiti tags, You’re Welcome, Universe introduces audiences to a one-of-a-kind protagonist who is unabashedly herself no matter what life throws in her way.


  1. Have to admit I'm particularly interested in this one since the protagonist is deaf. I'm a late deafened adult and have several friends that are deaf since they were young. Some mainstreamed, some not. I think it would be interesting to read about the her experiences. Hope you enjoy it! My WoW

  2. Cute pick! Doesn't really sound like my kind of read but I hope you truly enjoy it once you get to read it!

    Here's my WoW

    Have a GREAT day!

    Old Follower :)

  3. I have never heard of this book before, but the concept sounds incredibly unique! Thanks for bringing it to my attention ^_^ Cool pick!

    Brittany @ Brittany's Book Rambles


We love and appreciate comments, so feel free to leave us one. We always try to respond to every single one and show love back. :)

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...